In baking class last week we learned all about how to make the perfect cookie.  Luckily, I had a chance to practice my skills by baking cookies and bars for this great event that is happening in just a couple of short hours (click the logo to learn more).

In very typical KC fashion, I couldn’t decide what cookies to make, so I made several kinds.  This probably was not the wisest choice, because my cookie-making turned out to be a comedy of errors.

But hey, comedy means laughter, which is always a good thing.

When making the dough for my peanut butter cookies with salted peanut caramel, I realized I put an extra 100 grams of PB in the batter.  Oops!  They turned out quite yummy, especially if you’re a PB freak like I am, but I really wanted to make them the “right” way too.  So, I made the batter again, and this time I put in an extra stick of butter.  I guess I did that just because it was sitting on my cutting board.  It was one of those “if it’s there…” moves (a moment please, so I can roll my eyes at my silly error.)  …Remarkably, they didn’t spread too terribly much in the oven, so I’m using them.  Their texture is more like a shortbread, so I’m just going to say it’s a PB shortbread cookie with salted peanut caramel. Problem solved.

I also made snickery dulce de leche bars.  And they really do taste like a snickers bar… only better!  These almost turned out perfectly, but being the impatient baker that I am, I tried to cut them too soon after chilling them to set the top, and the beautiful ganache topping broke up a bit in the process.  Not beautiful, but oh so delicious. Is your mouth watering, yet?

The cowboy cookies I made are from a recipe that was new to me.  Again, so typical of me to try something new for an event.  They spread out quite a bit in the oven, and I think I know why.  The classic beginner cookie-maker mistake:  I creamed the butter and sugar too long.  I’m still selling them, because with the salted pretzels in them, they are the perfect combination of sweet and salty!  Really, who cares if they’re a little flat?

Finally, I’ve been eating scotcheroos for as long as I’ve had teeth to chew (thanks, mom!), so I had to make them, especially since this is an event to fight kids‘ cancer.  But thanks to David Lebovitz, I dolled them up a bit and turned them into a triple chocolate concoction with cocoa crispies and nutella!  It’s chocolate delirium, man.

Cookies

The "rejects."

Want some?   You’re going to have to shell out some bucks at this lovely event today (which, by the way, also has some highly coveted items on auction).  It’s not too  late!  Get your sugar high on while kicking kids’ cancer in the arse!

The event details:

1:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Best Place at the Historic Pabst Brewery
901 W. Juneau Ave.
More info

See you there!

